A Very Special Thanksgiving

First Thanksgiving as a married woman, and I couldn’t have asked for a better day.

From the time we started driving up north to my parents’ home, my husband and I could sense it was going to be a very special Thanksgiving. 

Not because this was our first Thanksgiving as a married couple, or anything unusual… simply, we were returning to where we first spent Thanksgiving together and everything seemed to flow, like good music.

This was where it all began.

We spent our first Thanksgiving together at my parents’ house. Geoff and I had only been dating for just over 3 months and he was feeling a little of that “stranger in a strange land” feeling that all boyfriends experience. He had nothing to worry about, I knew he’d impress my parents.

The engaged Geoffrey and Stephanie, Thanksgiving 2013.
The engaged Geoffrey and Stephanie, Thanksgiving 2013.

The second Thanksgiving was important. Geoff and I were engaged and Geoffrey’s parents hosted Thanksgiving that year, and it was the first Thanksgiving with both families in attendance. I cherish that Thankgiving the most.

Every year is distinct.

This Thanksgiving was very much a coda, reminding us of where we began and where we are now. It’s funny how memory plays tricks on the mind, especially when you return to familiar places. Years echoed to me as I watched everyone [my mom stirring the soup; my father carving the turkey; Geoff opening the bottle of champagne] … it felt like old times. What can I say? I’m sentimental.

