Final Reflections of an Intern.

Starcom MediaVest Group logoThis is the last week of my internship at Starcom. I’ve had such a great experience, I wish it didn’t have to end.

But change is a part of the human experience.

At the beginning, when I was asked what I hoped to take away from this internship I said, connections, knowledge, and fun. Why did I say fun? Well, firstly Starcom is the human experience agency, at the heart of their purpose and success are people and experiences. Secondly, there’s a quote that I think is very important for anyone to remember, and it comes from the great Ogilvy & Mather:

“Where people aren’t having any fun, they seldom produce good work.”

I wanted to walk away from the experience having taken every chance and opportunity available to challenge myself and show what I can contribute. What I also wanted was to find my place, where I would do the most good and where I could really flourish. I don’t want to be the man or woman in the gray flannel suit.

What I’ve gained from my time as an intern, working with the people I’ve had the privilege to work with, I have grown as a person and as a professional. I’ve been exposed to the multiple facets of the business and I’ve helped various teams with projects that I’m really proud of. Hopefully I’ve bettered my chances as a potential hire candidate. I certainly hope to return to Starcom soon as an employee. I’ll be graduating from graduate school in two months!

Whether my career future starts at Starcom or another company, I want to make sure that I can imagine myself being happy there. I sincerely believe that a person does their best work and has a great life when they are most themselves.

If you’re hiring, here’s my LinkedIn profile.

Update

Leave a Reply

