The Drake

drake hotel chicago

Some nights you can’t forget.

A couple weeks after “The Spark,” Geoff and I went on our first fancy date. It was August, 17th 2012 and we met up at RPM downtown for dinner at 5:30pm. I wore this really lovely form fitting dress from White House/Black Market with a simple pair of black heels. I remember it was nippy that day, so I wore a red rain coat from the Gap. When I saw him walking towards me from down the block, I knew I must have looked like Carmen San Diego.

We ate at the bar which was so much more fun than sitting at a table. The food was rich, the drink was old fashioned cocktail, and the conversation was a pleasure. I never had such fun talking with anyone before, on any subject and feeling so engaged you think you could go on forever joking around and discussing a little bit of everything.

After dinner we did some walking and talking around downtown, went down Michigan avenue over the Chicago River then back up again. I suggested we sit in the park in front of the famous Drake Hotel. It was dark, I felt danger, I felt alive. I wanted him to kiss me, so I said “Do your worst.” Literally before us was a cast of pink neon light from the Drake sign, la vie en rose came to mind.

We parted ways, catching our respective trains going in the opposite directions, to meet again for his birthday party in a couple of weekends. I felt that night that things could only get better.

